Wednesday, February 12, 2014

It's been awhile...

I did a really good job of taking care of myself while injured…and I felt like I wasn’t really allowed to write since I wasn’t really running (I’m silly). But to catch up quickly, I finished PT (with flying colors, of course) and dove head first into signing up for races. Not so smart. I really should have taken more time and eased back into things. My leg has really been bothering me the last couple of weeks. I tried ignoring it at first, because obviously that works. Then I tried easing up on the miles I was putting on it and that wasn’t helping. Finally, this week, I backed off. I haven’t run AT ALL. So much for “running it all”. I’ve run my pouty mood pretty well! Or, rather, it’s run me.
I signed up for the RNR DC 1/2 (March 15), Cherry Blossom 10-miler (early April), and Diva 1/2 (end of April).  RNR has to go out the window. I have to get rid of that bib and say goodbye. I haven’t run more than 6 miles and this last weekend I needed to run 11. Oh vey. But, there’s always next year (she says, pretending she is someone else – someone who says stuff like that).
I am going to keep taking it easy the next few days and go out for a “test run” (har har) and see how I feel. Fingers and toes crossed there it will be pain-free and I can keep on track for the rest of the races. And then I PROMISE (pinky promise) to really take it easy (no big races) for like MONTHS. And LOTS of cross-training. I will be a cross-training fool. I’ll change the name of the blog to cross-training fool. I should stop. I’m stopping. I’m done. Good night.

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

So excited about starting a blog about running.....I got myself injured...

So, is it ironic that I should start this blog, yet I won't be running for a bit? Didn't I decide to start a pseudo-running blog? Interesting. Very interesting.

My orthopedic doctor is 70% sure I have a tibia stress fracture. I've never had something like this before. It sucks. I haven't run in a little over 3 weeks (which, according to my husband, is actually exactly how long I've been a bit moody -- weird). I am REALLY trying to be the good patient. I rested, iced, elevated, compressed, everything I should do to speed the healing process. They believed they caught it early (phew!). I started PT last week (wow - did NOT expect to be so sore from PT) and will continue for at least a month. I had to miss out on a race already, but my fingers and toes are crossed that I will get to complete the Marine Corps 10k at the end of the month and, more importantly, the RVA Half Marathon in mid-November.

I was given the OK to cross-train via bike, swim, even elliptical, as long as I didn't feel any pain. I was SO excited to do something active (what is wrong with me??). I even got up at 5am (shudder) to join a running buddy for a TNT Fitness boot camp (holy sore -- typing even hurts). I am determined to strengthen my core, along with everything else, in order to prevent any injuries down the road. I mean, I only ever run. Ever. Obsess much? I am not going to be a better runner by running alone (write that down). It's time to break out the big guns and see what else my body can do. And see how much better it can make me as a runner. I just have to make sure I stick to this plan once I'm given the OK to start running again.

So, in the meantime, I will be stationary pedaling, sit-upping, push-upping, arm-curling and lunging any non-running moodiness away. Eating chocolate and drinking wine can't hurt, either. Hearing my kids laughing is also helpful. I guess it's not all bad :).

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

I Should Probably Explain Myself

I guess if I'm going to have this running-ish blog, I should give my brief running history. Growing up, running was completely foreign to me. I had plenty of friends who ran, some who tried to convince me to join them even. This sounded absolutely terrible at the time. You want me to do what? Run? For a long time? Just run? No thanks. Instead, I played other sports, where running was minimal (i.e. softball). Then came college. I didn't play softball anymore and I didn't have an organized exercise-type activity. All I had was me. So I went for a run. 15-20 minutes later I came back sputtering, hiccuping and coughing. I felt disgusting. I thought my lungs were going to explode, my legs were going to fall off and that I was right to have never been a runner. Eventually (like an hour later) I caught my breath, shook out my legs and got on with my day. And I felt great. Hello, runner's high. It might have been short and sweet, but it was there. I had a taste and I went back for more. Off and on throughout college I ran for that 20 to 30 minutes either outside or on a treadmill. I wasn't "fast". I wasn't aware of form. I didn't know anything about shoes. I wore cotton shirts, shorts and socks. But it was the beginning of me running. By the end of college, I was able to run for 45 minutes and I kept up with that for a while. I still didn't know anything about form, shoes or clothing. I just put my disc-man (flashback!) on top of the treadmill at the gym and hit play.

Running and I took a break from each other and I don't really know why. I wasn't mad at it. I wasn't injured. We just saw less and less of each other until I couldn't remember our last date. I was busy with my boyfriend/eventual husband (we had just moved in together) and working and I guess I needed a break. Don't worry. In case, you're wondering, we found our way back to each other.

At the end of 2007, I decided to join Team In Training for the March 2008 SunTrust National Half Marathon in Washington, DC (now I think it's been changed to the Rock N' Roll DC Half Marathon). My best friend had just recently completed a Half Marathon in Alaska (way cooler than me) through the program, which supports The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. Her mother passed away from Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma in 2001, so the organization meant a lot to us. It was incredibly intimating to sign up for such an adventure, but I missed running and wanted a way to rekindle our romance. I also knew that if my BFF could do this whole Half Marathon business, well, of course I could. Can't have her upstaging me, when I was the one who used to pseudo-run. I also might be a little competitive.

Team in Training is incredible. So much so, I signed up with them for the Nike's Women Marathon in San Francisco, CA after completing the Half Marathon in DC. I might have officially caught that running bug again. Unfortunately, the NWM '08 wasn't everything I wanted it to be. I still don't know if I did too much too soon, if I wasn't in the right pair of shoes (although prior to my Half, I finally learned correct running procedures, like getting fitted for shoes and proper running apparel -- my bank account has never been the same), but I injured my left knee about a month before the marathon. Thanks to my amazing sports medicine doctor (Dr. Donnelly at Sport and Spine Rehab), I was able to walk/run the first 10 miles of the marathon. Then, my knee felt like it exploded. It was devastating. I didn't know if I was going to have to walk away. I found one of my TNT coaches who evaluated me and said I wasn't going to do any damage by continuing to run if I wanted to keep going and then he RAN 10 MILES with me just to keep up my spirits. I was lucky that I didn't hurt myself further, but it was disappointing that my first marathon wasn't what I had hoped it would be either. I haven't yet done another. I'm still very afraid of getting hurt again.

But I digress....

So after the marathon, I kept up with my PT and I healed well (phew!) and kept running some local races just to keep up with running. Apparently if I don't sign up to race, I don't run on my own so much. Then I went and got myself knocked up in early 2009 (don't worry, that boyfriend from earlier had already made an honest woman out of me). I thought I'd continue to run, and I did at first, but then not so much. I even half-assed prenatal yoga. Did you know you could be lazy about prenatal yoga? I found a way. Even after my son was born I barely used our treadmill. What is it about running and/or exercising that is so hard to get back into?? I slowly started up again at the end of 2011. Then this thing happened where I found out I was pregnant again! And I swore (oh I how swore!) that this time around would be different! And what a difference! I ran/trotted almost through 7 mo of pregnancy and then walked the last bit. I gained 10 less pounds (but I also had a ridiculously smaller baby that second time as well - the first one could have been a small toddler coming out)! Once working out was permitted, I downloaded the Couch to 5K app on my phone. That thing was amazing. It was the perfect tool to get me back to work. After I felt comfortable with it, I downloaded the 10k app and started it. I ended up getting my confirmation into the inaugural Nike Women's Half Marathon DC so I started their training program right away. I completed the Nike Half DC in April '13 and it was so much fun. It was a great course. I do hope they do it again.

This summer I joined my first ever running group, Ashburn Area Running Club (AARC). It has been one of the most rewarding groups I have ever joined. I have met a lot of supportive, intelligent runners who bring an assortment of knowledge to the table. Plus, they get my crazy obsession. They also like to talk about pacing, new gear, races, PRs, goals, etc. And it doesn't get boring :).

So...this brings me to now. Can't say, "long story short" because...well wow. That was a lot. What's funny  is that through all those years, I never once considered myself a "runner" until now. Not until this past year. I'm not sure what has changed for me, but I guess maybe how much I take it seriously. Before it was just something I did. Now I feel like it's another part of who I am.

Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Welcome to the Blog!

Hello Family & Friends! I thought I would start this blog as an attempt to keep you better in the loop (sorry I’m not a phone person, nor am I good at one-on-one email) as to what’s going on in our lives. In addition, I sometimes need an outlet for my thoughts and craziness, so what better way than to combine the two?! Here goes nothing!